In case you didn’t read my previous blog I’ll give you a little info on the N:Rem Sleep System and why I chose to review it. If you follow my blog, you’ll be aware that I have chosen to trial several products that I feel will be of use to us as in the disabled community. Products that offer to improve our health, or quality of life in some way. It is for that reason that I contacted the N:Rem company. 

The company claims that this sleep system is specifically designed for people who suffer pain. The mattress is integrated with foam tablets of three different densities. These tablets can be swapped around the five different zones in order to effectively create a mattress that is bespoke to your needs. Unfortunately, I was unable to try the mattress as a whole, but I have been trialling the foam tablets on my own sub par mattress at home, here’s my findings… 


It was about two months ago that the tablets arrived in my home. My husband lugged the two huge boxes upstairs and I was shocked by the depth of the foam pieces. Often mattress toppers look thick and luxurious on photographs, but what arrives is a disappointing pancake of patheticness. That certainly wasn’t the case here. The foam was thick and sturdy, you could easily feel the different densities just by giving them a squeeze. 

Alongside the tablets came a comprehensive leaflet with instructions on the best placement of them, to suit pain in various areas of your body. I get all over body pain, but I do find the worst of it centres around the base of my spine. So I planned out the mattress to suit that. (I planned, my husband placed. Not that the tablets are heavy; just a little cumbersome as we have a kingsized bed.) I have to say I was very impressed that the foam easily covered the whole mattress; many places say things are kingsized but they never quite fit. I suppose that comes with the fact these are designed to actually slot into a mattress, rather than sit on top, so they need to be snug. Each density of tablet is a different colour, making them very easy to identify. 


Initially, I was incredibly impressed with the mattress toppers. For the first time in a long time, I found laying in my bed comfortable. The main improvement was to the pain in the pressure points where my body weight hits the mattress. Usually after a nights sleep these areas are pushed and smushed into awkward positions of pain. But not with the N:Rem tablets. With these tablets I could wake up in a much more comfortable state. Making it much easier to get a start on my day. 

I also found that the sleep I did get was deeper. Much deeper. To the point I often wouldn’t move in my sleep. There have often been many nights where I would toss and turn throughout the night, waking even more exhausted than when I went to sleep. Not so anymore. It is only on the highest pain nights that I struggle to get comfortable, rather than almost every single evening. In fact, for the first time in my adult life I managed to sleep the whole night on my side. Even better, my arm wasn’t completely numb and useless when I woke up. The different zones of the mattress tablets allowed my body to sink down where needed, and have extra support in other areas. This lead to the perfect sleeping position. Sleeping on my side is something the doctor has recommended for a while, to aid my digestion, so I’m glad it’s finally an option for me. 

Top tip: If you’re going to invest in a mattress, be sure to also get the correct pillow for your needs. Pillows come in all shapes, sizes and densities and can really make a huge difference to your sleep posture. 

Unfortunately during this trial I’ve had some severe dips in my health, leaving me pretty much bed bound for long stretches of time. It was during these periods in bed that my back pain became incredibly severe. It seemed like the tablets weren’t working. 

Disappointed, I rearranged them. Then rearranged them again. Then did it a third time. Eventually, after trying out pretty much every combination mathematically possible, I gave up. Perhaps my body is just too cantankerous to help? I was dreading writing the review, not sure what I would put. But then something changed, I moved to my husbands side of the bed in order to watch some television one night. The next morning my back pain had lessened. Was it a fluke, or had switching sides really made that much of a difference? I decided I best steal his side on a more permanent basis in order to find out.. for the sake of my readers. 

It was soon clear to me that the problem wasn’t the tablets. Over on my husbands side my backpain eased and the quality of my sleep continued to improve. I do still have insomnia, but when I do drop off it is a deep and refreshing sleep. I’ve also found myself able to nap during the day as soon as I become tired; rather than tripping the light fandango for at least an hour trying to find that sweet spot before eventually giving up. When I discussed this with my husband, he wasn’t surprised. Apparently on my side of the bed there is a me sized dip in the mattress, becoming particularly deep around backside level. 

So that’s the answer, my sub par mattress was making it impossible for the tablets to do their job. 

This is exactly why N:Rem do not provide the foam tablets as a pack on their own. They used to, but realised the customers weren’t getting the improvements they needed. So now the tablets are provided alongside the 2000 pocket sprung mattress, which they slot into. They are then topped with a viscoool layer and finally zipped into a high quality cover. The cover itself can be zipped off and washed, something that really appeals to me as I know life with chronic illness can be somewhat messy. As can life with kids. The whole mattress can also be stripped back for cleaning and airing out, great for those of us with allergies. 


I do wish I had been able to try the mattress as a whole. I’d love to know just how cool the cooling layer is, and if that helps with my sleep. My health issues mean I get severe hot sweats at night, so much so I have to have a fan running all year. The pocket sprung mattress sounds pretty amazing on its own, with the whole set up it must be mind blowing! Also, having just the foam tablets on my bed can be somewhat tiresome at times. My mattress is not designed to hold them in place like the N:Rem is, often they move and spread apart. Plus, I can feel where each one meets the next due to only having a fitted sheet on top; a fitted sheet that barely makes it around my mattress due to the depth of the foam. However, even with all these little niggles I would not be without these tablets now. I can 100% say that they have improved my sleep, lessened my pain and increased my quality of life. 

The N:Rem Sleep System is definitely the top of my wish list! Particularly as there’s a FREE 100 night trial going on at the moment, during which you can test out different combinations of foam tablets to ensure you get the best for your needs. The mattress is guaranteed for TEN years with a free returns policy on it. Finally, there’s an interest free offer that works out at only £1 per night for the sleep system. (I’d probably save that in electric for the fan!) You don’t even need to pay a deposit! I definitely feel a good nights sleep is worth £1 of anyone’s money, don’t you?

To start your FREE 100 night trial click here or to order today click here. Type in THISLITTLELIFE at the checkout for a £30 discount! 

This blog post is part of a sponsored review of the N:rem sleep system. All opinions within it are my own and in no way influenced by the company. This trial is not available to the general public. It is a one off that has been organised in order to create independent feedback on the product via my blog. There may be financial reward should any profits be made as a direct result of this piece. 

One thought on “N:Rem Sleep System.. Is it worth it? 

  1. I can relate with this I purchased the nrem sleep system the foam pieces I altered with not much luck then I realized i needed just one type of firm foam piecing…Nrem sent them out next day delivery and this sorted the issue…On a side note I also switched sides with the same result I slept so much better…I can relate totally…Ive debilitating health issues on a daily basis

    Like

Comments are closed.