Election 2017, Voting Day. 

I like to keep my blog free from politics. After all, this is my health blog. My blog about life with disability. What does politics have to do with it? 

I didn’t post during the American election, aware I’d be attacked for being English. Told I know nothing. Instead I lamented with friends. Tried to support them as their worst fears came true. I didn’t post during Brexit. I shared my thoughts and campaign messages I’d found on my personal page. But I didn’t write about them on here. A snap election was called. I remained silent on my blog. This platform that allows me to reach so many people with my thoughts. 

But, as I lie here. Fifteen minutes into June 8th 2017. I can remain silent no more. 

Because this election is about disability. It’s about the crippling grip our government currently has on myself and others like me, wringing every last drop of hope out of us. It’s about the lack of hospital beds, the wait for treatment, the doctors and nurses choosing to work abroad rather than face a life of toiling for hours on end to receive little pay. It’s about the social care we need being pretty much none existent at the moment. Budget cuts forcing pensioners into fifteen minute care slots, disabled people in unfit housing because there’s simply nowhere else for them to go, ill people being offered cheaper medication with more side effects and less benefits. 

This election is our countries chance to band together and say enough is enough. Not only when it comes to our NHS, but to all our public services. Our police force, that was so drastically cut they could no longer keep track of the terrorists on our doorstep. Terrorists who for the ten years prior to the cuts hadn’t managed to accomplish major attacks. Now we have had three in quick succession. Why are we losing lives at the hands of terrorists likely radicalised in Saudi, a country our Courbet PM is providing arms to?? Enough is enough, for our soldiers. Sent off to fight in illegal wars. Wars that are more about making money than actually needing to fight. Our troops deserve better. If they’re going to put their lives on the line, let it be for the right reasons! 

I know I will likely lose followers because of my views. Because I voiced them. But, as I lay here feeling sick to my stomach, I don’t care. For the first time in my life, in over a decade of having the right to vote, I am genuinely afraid of the result this election will bring. 

It should be an easy choice. A good man, who has taught hard for our rights and believes in democracy, who will carry out his parties manifesto to the very best of his ability regardless of if he ‘won’ the vote, who has a fully costed plan to fairly share our countries wealth and provide funding where it’s needed. Or a questionable woman, who’s own husband is minted but somehow doesn’t have to pay his taxes, who has no qualms about dessimating our police force and sending our nurses to foodbanks, who believes in taxing the poorest communities beyond their means while reducing tax for big business. It should be an easy choice, but for many it’s not. 

Why? Because the newspapers have painted Corbyn as a clown. A bumbling idiot who has no idea what he’s doing. Thousands upon thousands turn up to hear him speak, yet the newspapers still claim he has no authority. No passion. No conviction. The EU have offered to slow the Brexit process until a new government is ready, but the papers still tout Mays prophesies that a new government couldn’t possibly be ready in time to start proceedings. They claim he’s a terrorist sympathiser, while hiding the fact she sells arms to the country which is one of the highest threats! 

Another why; why are the papers (and the BBC) so biased?? It’s simple. Money. Money makes the world go around and it definitely controls the viewpoint of the media. The papers are owned by the elite, the elite who want to keep the rich rich and the poor poor. (I know I sound like a conspiracy theorist when I say that, but look at the history to see it’s true.) They are going to do everything they can to keep a man who wants to fight the crooked tax evaders, and make OUR COUNTRY work as well as possible for ALL of us, out of power! Of course they’re running him into the ground. We have to see past it! 

So, whilst it’s clear who I think the right option is today, I won’t ask you to vote my way. What I will say is this…

Please, I beg of you, before you tick that box  have a full readthrough of the manifestos. Think about all the doctors and teachers who have made videos begging you to vote for change. Think about your old age, and where you want your savings to go. Think about your children, do you want university to be a viable option? Think about the old lady down the street, who won’t get her winter fuel payment anymore. Think about the disabled, trying to hold it together after all the epic cuts and braced for yet more. Think about the police officers who were made redundant, the nurses who feed their families at food banks. Ask yourself, is Britain truly Great right now? 

Ignore the bias of the tabloids and mainstream media. Research for yourself. Forget about family voting traditions or past PMs. We aren’t going backwards. We need to look to the future. 

VOTE FOR THE POLICIES, NOT THE PERSON. 

Finally, choose the candidate who you believe will make BRITAIN Great again. Great for everyone. After all, we are the original Great, let’s be the best we can be. 
Here’s a few links if you want to start that research: 

https://www.thecanary.co/2017/06/07/boris-johnson-left-floundering-journalist-finally-asks-question-sink-tories-video/

https://www.facebook.com/labourparty/videos/10154579470777411/

https://www.thecanary.co/2017/06/05/corbyn-delivered-a-speech-that-could-win-him-the-election-but-the-bbc-isnt-showing-it-video/

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/06/05/david-camerons-former-aide-steve-hilton-calls-theresa-may-resign/

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/mps-pay-rise-salary-commons-parliament-1000-public-sector-worker-pay-politicians-a7476601.html

http://www.digitalnewsnetwork.net/2017/06/04/london-bridge-is-falling-down-and-so-is-theresa-mays-credibility/

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/theresa-may-naylor-review-nhs-privatisation-sell-off-property-developers-a7766486.html

2 thoughts on “Election 2017, Voting Day. 

  1. You may lose a follower but you will gain them too. Thank you for putting into words all I have been thinking but unable to write comprehensively.
    Have shared. Take care and hope people realize how important this election is on things the media doesn’t mention.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

