Breast is best? 

I want to breastfeed. 

I also want to stand and rock my son. I want to put him in his sling and walk around. I want to go out into the fresh air and proudly push him in his pram. 

I want to take my daughter to school. I want to cook a meal. I want to be able to get dressed every day. I want to drive my car places. I want to get out of bed. 

I don’t want to be exhausted. I don’t want to shake and go dizzy. I don’t want to be confused and forgetful. I don’t want to need supervising on the loo or in the shower. I don’t want to cry at my husband and beg him not to leave me alone at home even once more. 

But I want to breastfeed. Breast is best. Breast is what he needs. Or so I’ve been told. 

But what if breast isn’t best? If I go back on my medication then breast would be downright dangerous. If I don’t, then literally all I’m good for is breastfeeding. 

I languish in bed. Exhausted. Undressed. Useless. 

But my baby boy is breastfeeding. He’s thriving. Surely that’s best?? 
I just don’t know anymore. What’s more important, breast milk or a healthier mummy? 

3 thoughts on “Breast is best? 

      1. I do understand after bf my children but we’re I used to hold it as so important but seeing how much pressure we can put ourselves under to be the ‘best’ mum, I’ve realised that there are greater measures in the long run. I believe a lot in trusting God for each day and just finding enough peace for that. Xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

